Posted by: whimsigal | March 16, 2008

Corned Beef and Cabbage Day

mar152008_15.jpg Last night we celebrated Corned Beef and Cabbage Day, otherwise known as St. Patty’s Day. My husband’s family is Irish Catholic and every year, my mother-in-law throws a huge party for her family and closest friends and cooks about 30lbs of corned beef. It’s always delicious. This year’s party was stressful on a couple of counts, but when family is involved you just kind of have to expect it.

I got a little ticked at my mother-in-law’s husband.

************EDITED**********************************

He always has an attitude when my boys are around and I wish I knew why that was.

The other thing that was annoying had to do my sister and niece. My MIL decided she wanted a group family photo. Great! We haven’t had one in a while. I went and got my camera ready so someone could take a picture of all us. Well, I think 45 mins went by before my MIL actually started getting everyone together. My 2 year old niece did NOT want to be in the picture and everyone started in, “Oh come on, she’ll be ok! She HAS to be in the picture.” Never mind that she was crying hysterically about it. Why do people feel the need to torture kids for their own gain? So everyone kept putting pressure on my sister. Her daughter was crying and wriggling out of her arms until my sister just blew her top. Mind you, I would not have done that because it’s just too rude to me to make a scene like that but she’s strong minded and doesn’t take crap from anyone and she let everyone know she was pissed. It made for an uncomfortable moment and my sister and niece left.

What’s nice about the party are my MIL’s friends. They’re so sweet and very funny and it was so good to see all of them. This year’s party felt a lot different than the ones in years past though. I’m not sure what it was but something about the dynamic was off. When we got home, Iain was saying that my MIL’s husband had said something that upset him but he wouldn’t tell us what it was. I’m hoping to get to the bottom of that.

Today, the boys and I cleaned up their room because their cousins are in town and are going to sleepover here one night this week. It’s going to be a lot of fun! They’re so excited and I am, too.

Did I tell you that we ended up ordering the boys beds from Ikea? They’re getting here on Tuesday so Iain has to pick a paint color this week for his new room. We’ll get new bedding for them after that’s all said and done, too.

Sean is beginning to feel the pressure of working and going to school. He’s still trying to find the perfect balance of home, school, and work, and it’s been a real struggle for him. I think he’ll hit his stride sometime in the next couple of weeks though. It’s just hard for him right now.

I’m going to try and cook my own corned beef tonight although it’s never anywhere near as good as my MIL’s!! Hers is truly the best. Wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Ah. School, work, home. I feel you there.

    I did that. I help my students do that. Now my husband is doing that in the midst of a major re-org where the pressure is on him to get it all done in less time with a baby on the way.

    I tell my students to do what I did. (I worked 40 hrs, did school full time, and then had a baby. That time dynamic didn’t last, btw.): Make a calendar. Schedule out daily times. Try and shift homework to after kid sleep hours or down time at work (unless you’ll get fired). Stick to that, and try (if full time) to over schedule it so you can work ahead to compensate when life interferes (it will).

    I cut TV out if I’m behind. I would also get up an hour earlier in the day if I needed since that made me less tired than staying up late.

    But seriously, writing out where time is spent helps most of my students.

    🙂 Now if only I could get my OWN DH to follow my wisdom…..

  2. LOL After “kid sleep hours”? What are those? The kids are sometimes still up when we go to bed!

    Seriously though, you make some good point about carving out time and Sean knows he needs to do that. He has said he was going to and then just didn’t stick to it. Now he doesn’t have much choice though.

    I’m going to pass your wisdom along to him, although I suspect he’ll get as much of a chuckle out of “kids sleep hours” as I did. 🙂

    Thanks, MP!

    evie

  3. Sorry you didn’t have the best day! At least you get to go home to your own quiet house.

  4. Girlfriend, I have never been happier to walk across the threshold to my house! I don’t mean to make it seem like it was a bad time because it wasn’t BAD, just not quite as fun as parties in the past.

  5. oh i am so jealous…I don’t know anyone who is celebrating st pattys day this year..can you believe that?!?! Oh ok I guess I could….but im in the same boat as your hubs-trying to juggle a million and one things on a schedule that only allows for one hundred haha. And btw, I don’t know who the man with the backwards cap and facial hair is, but yum teehee

  6. So the hot dude is my 21 year old brother-in-law. He’s a senior at Appalachian state and I think he’s single. 😉

    Oh and he’s one of the sweetest people I know. Have I mentioned that besides making the best corned beef, my MIL also raised four of the best men I know??

    Wow, you don’t know anyone at all who’s celebrating it? I guess it’s hard with it being on a Monday.

  7. lol yeah, i think that just may be the problem. The only people I know that “celebrate” it do so with green beer and thats about it…

    sigh…21…he’s just a youngin…thats trouble, and boy would my friends love him…maybe he should take a roadtrip to california hahahaha

  8. Well, I will certainly share your comments with him! LOL

  9. My hackles are raised a bit at the whole “MIL’s husband said something to him” thing. Grrr… back away from the children, mister…

    Sorry it wasn’t as fun as usual. Ah, family. So great, so difficult.

    Happy St. Pat’s to Ye!

  10. You know what Laura? Apparently, my MIL read my blog and is mad at me now and is boycotting Ryan’s birthday this weekend. Isn’t that nice?

    Hope you had a good St. Patty’s Day!

  11. MIL boycotting the party makes NO sense. Sorry to hear about it.

    I like the cute cookies at the top of the post. We didn’t do anything for St Patty’s day this year. 😦

    I don’t know if I’ve ever had corned beef! Hmmm…

  12. Well, if you haven’t had corned beef, you should give it a try! My mother doesn’t like it at all but I think it’s tasty. It’s one of those things where you either love it or hate it.

    I don’t think her skipping the party makes sense either. She can be mad at me all she wants but she’s really only hurting herself by not coming to her grandson’s birthday party. It’s sad, really.


Leave a Reply

Categories

